Shattered by Kevin Hearne

shattered coverThe seventh book in the Iron Druid Chronicles, Shattered, was finally published back in June. (It felt like forever!) I’m just getting around to reviewing it now, because this series has become popular enough that it’s being published in hardback first, and I collect the paperbacks, so I had to wait and get it from my library. I’m thrilled for Hearne that his books have become popular and are theoretically making more money, but I was sad that now I have to wait to buy my copy. *sigh* Anyways, onto the Goodreads summary:

For nearly two thousand years, only one Druid has walked the Earth—Atticus O’Sullivan, the Iron Druid, whose sharp wit and sharp sword have kept him alive as he’s been pursued by a pantheon of hostile deities. Now he’s got company.
Atticus’s apprentice Granuaile is at last a full Druid herself. What’s more, Atticus has defrosted an archdruid long ago frozen in time, a father figure (of sorts) who now goes by the modern equivalent of his old Irish name: Owen Kennedy.
And Owen has some catching up to do.
Atticus takes pleasure in the role reversal, as the student is now the teacher. Between busting Atticus’s chops and trying to fathom a cell phone, Owen must also learn English. For Atticus, the jury’s still out on whether the wily old coot will be an asset in the epic battle with Norse god Loki—or merely a pain in the arse.
But Atticus isn’t the only one with daddy issues. Granuaile faces a great challenge: to exorcise a sorcerer’s spirit that is possessing her father in India. Even with the help of the witch Laksha, Granuaile may be facing a crushing defeat.
As the trio of Druids deals with pestilence-spreading demons, bacon-loving yeti, fierce flying foxes, and frenzied Fae, they’re hoping that this time, three’s a charm.

I really really enjoyed this book. I was nervous, because the previous book, Hunted (reviewed here!) was not my favorite. I mean, I don’t think I’ll ever stop adoring Atticus, Granuaille, and Oberon, but book six was just not my favorite. Kevin Hearne totally redeemed himself with this book. It was fabulous. So many things came together in this book. It’s hard to say much without spoilers but I can say this novel was completely worth the wait.

Hearne set up this novel to be told from three different viewpoints: Atticus, Granuaille, and Atticus’s Archdruid who decides to call himself Owen Kennedy. I particularly enjoyed meeting Atticus’s Archdruid, who had been essentially in suspended animation on Time Island since Atticus was a young man centuries ago. He was not at all what I expected. I didn’t always love hearing the story in his voice, but it was a very different perspective and that I appreciated. I also loved that Granuaille not only had her own voice, but also had a storyline separate from Atticus. We got to see her come into her own as a Druid and live her own life, not always attached to Atticus. Occasionally, this made the timeline a bit difficult to follow. Since Atticus, Granuaille, and Owen were not together, and were each experiencing their own issues and leaving notes and texts for each other, it was sometimes hard to follow. Of course, I’m also OCD about these sort of things, and eventually decided it really didn’t matter and just enjoyed the book. A less particular person may not have even noticed.

I almost forgot! Granuaille gets her own hound! I loved the conversations Granuaille had with her hound, teaching her how to talk. Oberon “flirting” with the new hound was pretty adorable too. And I appreciated the Game of Thrones reference. Hearne knows his readers well.

5 out of 5 stars. Truly excellent. As always, I’m already dying for the next book. Happy reading!

-Branwen

Leave a Reply

