Go see THOR: The Dark World

I just got back from seeing Thor: The Dark World with my fiance and I have to say, it was way better than I expected. I’ve never read a comic book in my life, so I don’t have the same sort of attachment comic lovers have to these movies, but regardless, I am totally addicted to them, and I’ll watch however many super hero movies Marvel wants to make for as long as they make them. This one was particularly good.

Thor-2-Movie

5,000 years ago, during the last Convergence when all the worlds aligned, Odin’s father  defeated the dark elf Maliketh and locked up his terrible, world-destroying weapon the Aether. Another Convergence is upon us, which wakes up the Aether and Maliketh, who immediately wants vengeance on Asgard and it’s inhabitants. The Aether manages to get inside Jane Foster, Thor’s girlfriend, so he rushes off to Earth to save her and brings her back to Asgard. This prompts Maliketh to attack Asgard to regain the Aether, and the only one who can help Thor and Jane escape and ultimately save the day is Loki, who Thor must trust if he wants to keep Jane alive and Asgard intact.

thor movie poster 2

You can sort of see the aforementioned snazzy outfit here.

I liked this movie because it was more about Thor and Loki, not Thor and his love interest Jane (which is not to say I don’t love Natalie Portman. She’s freaking awesome). The dynamic between those two characters was excellent, and often hilarious. There were actually several humorous moments in this movie, and we didn’t see even half of them in the previews. We even get to see Loki behaving “not-bad” which was cool and very different from what we’re used to. I almost started to like him in this movie. The villain was evil and believable and the action was great, as always. We saw Jane in some snazzy Asgardian outfits, which I really want to steal for myself. And there was a completely gratuitous scene that featured Chris Hemsworth with no shirt. It had no point whatsoever.

chris-hemsworth-shirtless

Much like this picture.

There were a few moments of weirdness. Jane Foster threw out some random science words that didn’t make any sense. She wasn’t as prominent in this movie was she was in the first. It was like they got to the end of the movie, and thought they hadn’t made her sound smart enough, so they gave her some bigs words to say. And S.H.I.E.L.D. and the rest of the Avengers were nowhere to be found (busy solving another potentially world-ending crisis perhaps?) But none of that was annoying enough to make the whole movie bad. Overall, it was a great movie. I loved it. Go check it out!

-Branwen

Leave a Reply

