Fury’s Kiss by Karen Chance

Dorina Basarab is a dhampir—half-human, half-vampire. Subject to uncontrollable rages, most dhampirs live very short, very violent lives. But so far, Dory has managed to maintain her sanity by unleashing her anger on those demons and vampires who deserve killing… 

furys-kiss-coverDory is used to fighting hard and nasty. So when she wakes up in a strange scientific lab with a strange man standing over her, her first instinct is to take his head off. Luckily, the man is actually the master vampire Louis-Cesare, so he’s not an easy kill.

It turns out that Dory had been working with a Vampire Senate task force on the smuggling of magical items and weaponry out of Faerie when she was captured and brought to the lab. But when Louis-Cesare rescues her, she has no memory of what happened to her.

To find out what was done to her—and who is behind it—Dory will have to face off with fallen angels, the maddest of mad scientists, and a new breed of vampires that are far worse than undead…

Fury’s Kiss is the third installment in the Dorina Basarab series by Karen Chance. I’ll be honest, I read these books because I am absolutely in love with the Cassandra Palmer series, and I like these extra visits with Mircea and Louis-Cesare. They keep me hanging on while I wait for the next Cassandra Palmer book to come out. Which, by the way, came out at the beginning of the month, Tempt the Stars, Cassandra Palmer #6. But since I am not a book buyer, more of a get-books-from-the-library-er, I haven’t been able to snag a copy yet. Hopefully soon! Anyways back to the current book. 

I stole the summary from Goodreads because after reading this book I’m still not entirely sure what happened. I mean, I know Dory was in it. And she was struggling with keeping her “vampire half” under control. And there were lots of portals involved–the kind that went to Faerie, and the kind that connected various places in the vampire world, including the ones in Dory’s house. The house she shared with her half-fey roommate Claire, who is some sort of royalty, and is in trouble because of her royal son and what he’s supposed to inherit. Or not inherit, I wasn’t really sure about that part. Dory’s father Mircea showed up every once in awhile too, to tell Dory to stay away from the vampire problem, and also to use his master vampire powers to read Dory’s mind and figure out what she knows that can help the vampires win their war. So, you can see, this book was a little confusing. There was just way too much happening. I couldn’t keep it all straight. On top of the 497 plot points, a new race of characters, the Irin who claim to be fall angels, was introduced. For no reason that I could discern. I’ll admit, I did read part of this book at night in bed when I was sleepy. But I certainly wasn’t sleepy enough to lose all powers of reading comprehension. There was just too much to comprehend!

There were some things I liked about this book. We did get to read about Louis-Cesare and Mircea, even though it wasn’t as much as I would have liked. More of Mircea and Dory’s past was revealed, and how hard Mircea worked to keep Dory safe and protected from those who thought all dhampirs should just be put down, and also from her own mind. We even saw Dory become closer to Mircea, despite her best intentions and efforts. There were some impression fight scenes in this book, too. Again, the problem was almost the entire book was fight scenes. Some of them rambled on a bit and didn’t make much sense. I was also sort of bored with them by the end, and just wanted to get to the point and find out who the bad guy was. 

This was not my favorite Karen Chance book, but it did get me excited for the next Cassandra Palmer book, which I hope to get my hands on soon. And while I’m excited to read more about Cassie and Pritkin, I have to say the Dorina books have made me love Mircea more. Can’t wait for Tempt the Stars!

Happy reading,

-Branwen

Leave a Reply

