Night Life by Caitlin Kittredge

Goodreads summarizes this story thusly:

nightlifekittredgeThe first book in a thrilling, addictive new series by a talented new voice in dark fantasy. Welcome to Nocturne City, where werewolves, black magicians, and witches prowl the streets at night…

Among them is Luna Wilder, a tough-as-nails police officer whose job is to keep the peace. As an Insoli werewolf, Luna travels without a pack and must rely on instinct alone. And she’s just been assigned to find the ruthless killer behind a string of ritualistic murders—a killer with ties to an escaped demon found only in legend…until now.
But when she investigates prime suspect Dmitri Sandovsky, she can’t resist his wolfish charms. Pack leader of a dangerous clan of Redbacks, Dimitri sends her animal instincts into overdrive and threatens her fiercely-guarded independence. But Luna and Dimiri will need to rely on each other as they’re plunged into an ancient demon underworld and pitted against an expert black magician with the power to enslave them for eternity…

I picked up this book because I recently read a short story by Kittredge set in the Nocturne City world, and I loved it. I was very vague in my review (which you can read here) and it didn’t stick with me enough that I remember it anymore, other than that I liked it a lot. Unfortunately, I did NOT like this particular story at all. I should have known when the librarian at my local library walked past my inter-library-loan request and said “You read Kittredge?” in the type voice that clearly implied I was crazy for doing so. I said I was trying her out, and would report back. Too bad I have nothing to report.

I didn’t even finish this book. I suppose the story had some potential, but not only could I not get emotionally invested in the leading lady, I couldn’t stand her. She was vulgar, abrasive, and to put it bluntly, a huge bitch. None of the other supporting characters had anything redeeming or memorable about them to make Luna more bearable. After reading eight chapters and still not being interested enough in the plot to keep going, I decided there were too many books and too little time to waste reading about characters I didn’t like.

Here’s hoping the next book I read is better! Happy reading,

-Branwen

Leave a Reply

