Beautiful Redemption by Garcia and Stohl

Beautiful Redemption coverBeautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl is the fourth and final book in the Caster Chronicles. This review will (of course) contain big spoilers for the other three books in the series. Read at your own risk.

The events of the Eighteenth Moon have passed, the Order has been restored, and all is as it should be. Except for the small fact that Ethan Wate is dead, and Lena, Amma, and the rest of his friend and family will do anything to get him back.

Ethan didn’t really plan for what would happen after he threw himself off the top of that water tower, rejoined the two parts of his fractured soul, and sacrificed himself so the Order would be restored. He did not expect to wake up in his house, with his mother (who has been dead for over a year) frying green tomatoes in the kitchen. He certainly did not expect to find out that his death was a mistake. Someone cheated, and changed his page in the Caster Chronicles, which led to his premature death. There may be a way for him to return to Lena and the others he loved and lost, and he won’t stop until he finds it.

Meanwhile, back in Gatlin, Lena refuses to listen to anyone who claims Ethan is gone for good. She and Amma, and sometimes her Uncle Macon, believe Ethan is trying to contact them, and by doing what he asks of them from beyond the grave they may be able to get him back. Liv, John Breed, and Link are less sure, but help anyway. The battle between good and evil isn’t quite over, and those that remain alive will have to keep fighting if they ever want to see Ethan again.

Typically, I’m not a fan of books where the main character is a ghost, particularly a ghost with the potential to come back to life. Cheating death that way just doesn’t seem fair to me, I don’t know, I was doing some eye-rolling when I first started reading. But then, I ended up not minding as much as I thought I would. I actually thought finally meeting Ethan’s mom and seeing what kind of character she is was very cool. And I liked that we got to see more of Aunt Prue, one of my favorites, as well. One of my favorite chapters was the one where Ethan meets the Greats, and talks to them while sitting on their front porch. This may have been some of the coolest “afterlife” world building I have read in awhile.  Additionally, I liked the part of the story told from Lena’s point of view, even if she was a little whiny sometimes. I was afraid while Ethan was dead we wouldn’t hear from Link and Uncle Macon, some of my favorite characters, so that was a nice touch. Since so much of the story revolved around Lena, it was cool to be inside her head for awhile. And that part of the story finally gave us the resolution of the drama between the Light Casters and Abraham, which wrapped up nicely. I was impressed that while parts of the ending of this story were the cheesy-happy-ending kind, it wasn’t an entirely happy ending. There was still loss to be dealt with, and the ending of the series focused on moving on rather than a cute happily ever after. Overall, the whole series was very well done and I’m glad I read it. I recommend it to anyone who likes YA paranormal romance and magic.

Happy reading,

-Branwen

One response to “Beautiful Redemption by Garcia and Stohl

  1. You’ve Been Nominated
    Hi. I just nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blog Award. Among other things, you are supposed to nominate 15 other blogs when you accept (kind of like chain letter/pyramid type advertising) but I’m only nominating six. Anyway, it only serves to help promote your blog. For more info, check out the appropriate post at my site on A Toast To Dragons: http://www.atoasttodragons.com .

Leave a Reply

