Favorite reads of 2012

These books were not necessarily published in 2012, but I read them this year, and they were the best of the best! In no particular order (because picking an absolute favorite for a whole year is just way too much to ask) here are my favorite reads from 2012:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor daughter of smoke and bone (cover)

This was one of those books I picked up because the cover was gorgeous. It was a great choice!

Insurgent (cover)Divergent and Insurgent (Divergent, books one and two) by Veronica Roth

Couldn’t choose which of these books I liked better, so they both make the list. The sequel to Insurgent is one I am really looking forward to in 2013!

Trapped by Kevin Hearnetrapped cover

Not the only Iron Druid Chronicles book to come out in 2012, but I liked this one better than Tricked. Not by much, I mean, I love anything with Atticus and Oberon in it, but this one featured way more Granuaile than the other four novels, so this one makes the list.

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier (cover)Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Time travel. Conspiracy. Secrets. Romance. What’s not to like?

morrigan's cross cover

 

Morrigan’s Cross (book one), Dance of the Gods (book two) and Valley of Silence (book three). These books make up the Circle Trilogy by Nora Roberts – all three books were fantastic, I couldn’t pick just one for my list.

name of the wind coverThe Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

This book was a bit of an epic read, took awhile to finish. But I loved it. Haven’t gotten my hands on the sequel yet, but I’m looking forward to it!

Fair Game by Patricia Briggsfair game cover

Honestly, Patricia Briggs is an author that can do no wrong as far as I am concerned. I love the Mercy Thompson series, and Fair Game is an Alpha and Omega novel set in the same world. No one writes werewolves like Briggs, and no one writes them better.

the rook coverThe Rook by Daniel O’Malley

I read this book after Kevin Hearne recommended it on his blog. I’m really glad he did. I’m not sure any book ever has left me wanting a sequel as much as this one. (OK, that’s probably not entirely true. I’m sure there are a few Robin McKinley books that fit the bill, but this is the most recent book that has left me dying for a sequel that will probably never come.) I hope to eventually re-read this book and write a complete review. At some point. When the pile next to the bed goes down a bit, haha.

spectyr coverGeist and Spectyr (Book of the Order, books one and two) by Philippa Ballantine. These were also both too good to pick one for the list.

magic slays coverMagic Slays by Ilona Andrews

Much like Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews can do no wrong, and cannot write books in this series fast enough to satisfy me. More Kate and Curran please!

bossypants coverBossypants by Tina Fey – not fantasy, but who doesn’t love Tina Fey?

Can’t wait to read and review more fantastic books in 2013! Have a great New Year’s everyone, and keep reading!

-Branwen

Leave a Reply

