The Hobbit Movie!!

Far over the Misty Mountains cold
To dungeons deep and caverns old
The pines were roaring on the height
The winds were moaning in the night
The fire was red, it flaming spread
The trees like torches blazed with light.

As promised, here are my thoughts on the new Hobbit movie. This isn’t really a movie review, and it’s obviously not a book review, but I wanted to share my thoughts all the same.

If you were being kind, you would call my boyfriend and myself Tolkien “fanatics” so we were off to see The Hobbit almost as soon as it hit theatres and we had HIGH expectations. We are the kind of fanatics who have read all the books (including the Simarillion…well, OK, most of the Simarillion, it does get a little slow in places) and we play LOTRO too. So yeah…fanatics is a safe description. That being said, let me tell you, The Hobbit was FREAKING FANTASTIC. We loved every minute of it, enough that we are considering paying the ridiculous movie ticket prices a second time and seeing it again.

Firstly, to answer some critics: Was it long? Yeah, it was. Boyfriend got up to pee like five times (hehe, don’t hate me boyfriend!) But tiny bladders aside, it didn’t feel long. The action and dialogue were well-spaced out and it felt like the movie kept moving forward. Did it follow the book? I’ll admit I haven’t read the book in several years, but from what boyfriend and I remembered we thought it followed the book very well. The part with the trolls was near perfect from what we could remember, as well as the scene with Gollum under the goblin caves. The “pit stop” in Imladris, which we know as Rivendell, was beautiful as always. The map-in-the-moonlight scene was so cool! I also thought it was super cool that the producers got the original Elrond, Galadriel, Sauroman, and Gandalf actors back. I mean, let’s be honest, NO ONE but Sir Ian McKellan could plan a convincing Gandalf, and I don’t think anyone else could play Elrond or Galadriel either. Speaking of Galadriel, I really envied the dress she was wearing in Rivendell. Check it out ladies, it was stunning! Elijah Wood as Frodo had an appearance at the beginning of the movie as well. I’m waiting to see if Aragorn and Gimli appear in the next movies (we already know Orlando Bloom is playing Legolas again, we just don’t know when we will see him; boyfriend and I speculate somewhere in Mirkwood, as Legolas is the son of Thranduil, king of the Woodland Realm of Northern Mirkwood).

Other things we enjoyed (besides everything): Going into the movie, I was worried about the large number of dwarves and keeping them straight. Turned out this was not a problem. Every dwarf had a unique personality and they all looked different enough that remembering who was who was no problem at all. And when they sang! Goodness, my heart broke. Learning more of the history of the dwarves was fabulous as well. Also, Martin Freeman made a superb Bilbo Baggins. I already liked Martin Freeman from seeing him in Sherlock. (Brief aside: Sherlock is a British TV drama which you can watch on Netflix based on Sherlock Holmes in modern times. Martin Freeman plays Dr. Watson, and the show is hilarious. Check it out!) Anyway, he was great. The graphics and scenery were great. There were some scenes I could tell would be gorgeous in 3D (we saw the film in 2D, as 3D gives me migraines). The worst part about this movie was that it ended. Naturally I cannot wait until the next two movies release.

So go see the Hobbit!

Happy movie-watching!

-Branwen

PS – The lyrics to “The Misty Mountains” that the dwarves sing at the beginning of the movie, and in one of the movie trailers (and that are printed at the top of the blog post), are actually taken from a much longer poem called “The Misty Mountains Cold” by (of course) J. R. R. Tolkien. You can find the complete poem online here and I would recommend checking it out. The complete poem is even more beautiful than the song.

Leave a Reply

