Iced by Karen Marie Moning

iced coverDani “Mega” O’ Malley is one of the strongest and best sidhe-seers left standing  after the walls between our world and Faery come crashing down. She roams the streets of Dublin killing Fae with the Sword of Light, one of only two weapons that can kill the immortal Fae. She helps those in need, kills every Fae she can get close to…and with her superspeed, that’s a lot of Fae, and generally keeps herself busy. One of her favorite things to do is harass Ryodan, who runs the club Chester’s where killing humans is legal but killing Fae is not. But then, an enemy worse than anything anyone has seen yet shows up, and Ryodan and Dani are forced to work together to keep Dublin from freezing to death.

Iced is the first book in the Dani O’Malley trilogy by Karen Marie Moning. This book follows the Fever Series, and won’t make much sense (not to mention spoil the previous books) if you do not read that series first. It takes place in the same world with the same characters, just a change in narrator–in fact it picks up almost immediately after Shadowfever, the last book in the Fever series, left off. I was really happy to hear Moning was going to continue writing in the Fever world. I LOVED the Fever series, even the parts that got on my nerves, and I’m glad we didn’t have to wait too long to go back. This book gave us an insight into the mysterious personality of Ryodan, who we got barely a glimpse of in the original series. Mac and Barrons were barely mentioned in this book, instead it focused on Dani and Christian MacKeltar, the Highlander who is slowly turning into an Unseelie Prince. We also learn more about the abbey full of sidhe-seers, and the evil Cruce imprisoned beneath their home. We also meet a new character, Dancer, genius and best friend of Dani.

While I was very excited to be back in the Fever world, I’ll admit I didn’t love reading the story from Dani’s point of view. She can be So. Fecking. Annoying. And so obnoxiously full of herself (like a typical 14-year-old girl, yes, but that didn’t make it any less bothersome for me). I didn’t like her very much in the original Fever books, and I liked her even less when I had to be in her head for almost the entire novel (*twitch*). I’m expecting Dani to magically grow up soon, if for no other reason than so Moning can solve the “age-difference” problem between Ryodan, Christian, and Dani and we can read one of Moning’s famously steamy sex scenes.   Maybe then Dani will annoy me less, haha. I could be wrong, it’s just something I was speculating about as I was reading. Naturally, this book has a ridiculous cliff-hanger ending, but that’s such a signature move of Moning’s that I would have been more disappointed if she had NOT had an insane cliff-hanger ending than if she did.

While Moning answered a few questions we were left with at the end of the Fever series, she did (naturally) leave us with a plethora of questions as well. For example (and I hope this doesn’t spoil anything for anyone, I don’t think it does): What is really going on with Ryodan and Jo? How human and how Fae is Christian?  What is going to happen at the abbey? And, most of all, WHO IS DANCER??? It couldn’t be more obvious that there is WAY more to Dancer than he lets on, and it was driving me nuts that Dani just took him at face value! *breathes deeply* Sorry, minor rant over. Overall, I enjoyed this book immensely and am looking forward to Burned, the next one in the Dani O’Malley series (I couldn’t find a projected publication date, unfortunately).

If you liked the Fever series, you will like this book too! If you want to check out the Fever series, start with Darkfever.

Happy Reading,

-Branwen

PS – I almost forgot! Moning titled every chapter with song lyrics. That was clever, and I was smiling and singing all the songs in my head while reading.

Leave a Reply

