Trapped by Kevin Hearne

trapped coverWhen these novels arrive on my doorstep, they are always met with loud squees of delight. I can’t get enough of Atticus, Oberon, and Granuaile. It helps that these books never disappoint, and have me laughing out loud constantly. For example, you know a book is going to be fantastic when in the very first paragraph you read “the dude abides.” One of the reasons I love Kevin Hearne is for his pop culture references, and he always surprises me with new ones in every book.

Trapped is the fifth installment in the Iron Druid Chronicles. 12 years have passed since the last novel (well, 6 if you count Two Ravens and One Crow, a novella that Hearne calls book 4.5. Sadly, I haven’t been able to get my hands on the novella yet, but it wasn’t too much of a problem when I was reading Trapped). Granuaile, Atticus’s Druid-apprentice, has survived her lengthy training and is ready to be bound to the Earth. Of course, it isn’t that simple, and much chaos ensues that Atticus must solve before he can fully bind Granuaile and double the amount of Druids on the planet.

I really enjoyed this novel, as usual for Hearne’s books, but specially because Granuaile is my favorite character. She finally gets to talk to Oberon (Atticus’s wolfhound) in this novel, something I enjoyed immensely. We also get to visit Tir na nOg in this novel, and meet more of the Tuatha De Danann. I always liked Manannan Mac Lir and getting to see more of him in this novel was exciting. Perun the thundergod reappears in this novel as well, and he’s just fun. Overall, this was an excellent addition to the Iron Druid Chronicles. This book didn’t seem to feature quite as much action as the previous novels, there was no epic battle like the ones with Thor or the skinwalkers, but I didn’t really mind. I liked reading the interplay between the other characters instead. I was also nervous about the 12 years of time that passed between novels, but I barely noticed. As usual, I am completely stoked for the next novel. If you haven’t read any of Kevin Hearne’s novels yet, go back and start with Hounded. You won’t regret it!

May Harmony Find You,

-Branwen

Leave a Reply

