Insurgent by Veronica Roth

WARNING: This review will contain spoilers for Divergent. Insurgent is the second book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent series. I had high hopes for this book-I loved Divergent-and I was not disappointed. Insurgent continues the story of Tris Prior and her friends and family as they deal with the Eurdite and Dauntless-traitors who are trying to control the other factions at the whim of Eurdite’s power-hungry leader Jeanine. War is looming.  Alliances are being forged and broken. Tris’s relationships with the people around her are changing as everyone chooses a side. Who can she trust? Who is telling the truth? Will Tris finally find out what her divergence really means?

This book was impossible to put down. It picked up the moment Divergent left off, which was somewhat confusing for me, as I didn’t quite remember which character was which and it took me a few chapters to get my bearings. It added to the story’s intensity though, much more so than if Roth had stopped and re-capped what happened in the previous book. I also enjoyed how much Roth developed all the characters. They all had complex personalities, and many of them had painful histories to go along with them.

The relationship between Tris and Tobias/Four was emotional as well. They both thought they knew what was best, both for each other, and for everyone around them. This led to conflict and pain for Tris, and likely Tobias as well though we don’t get to hear the story from his point of view. It was refreshing to read a teen relationship that was not all sunshine and butterflies, and that seemed so real.

There was a time during the middle of the book where Tris started to get on my nerves a bit. I was concerned that she was rapidly turning into Katniss: whining, feeling sorry for herself, arguing with the boy who she supposedly loves, believing she is the only person with all the information, and knows more than any of the leaders of any group. That was the part that reminded me most of Katniss, I think, and I was worried that this story was heading down the path of Mockingjay (*shudders*). Though they were similar, this book was better, and eventually Tris got a grip and started to make good decisions again. I just loved her character, and caught myself thinking a few times that Tris would be a wonderful friend to have in real life-although, I wouldn’t want to live in Tris’s world.

Lastly, the ending. Oh, the ending. Brilliant. I almost wish I had waited until the next book came out to read this one, so I wouldn’t have this long wait to find out what happens next.

Favorite line:
“Come on Insurgent,” he says with a wink.
“What?” I say…
“Insurgent,” he says. “Noun. A person who acts in opposition to the establish authority, who is not necessarily regarded as belligerent.”

Insurgent was fantastic. Go out and read it as soon as possible, you won’t be sorry. Happy reading!

-Branwen

Leave a Reply

